Tags

, , , , ,

FullSizeRender

For Valentine’s Day, my amazing husband bought me the record player I had been dying for from Urban Outfitters. There is seriously no better way to listen to music than on vinyl. I’ve slowly been building my record collection, but Jeff Buckley’s album Grace will always be my favorite.

If you’ve never listened to Jeff Buckley before, what have you been doing with your life? No song will ever be greater than his version of Hallelujah. Especially on vinyl! Nothing compares to the the gritty sound, it’s a whole different listening experience entirely.

IMG_1443

Grace came out in 1994, and sadly it was the only album he had a chance to record. Jeff tragically drowned in a river three years after his album debuted, but his music lives on. My theory is that he was just too perfect to live. If you’ve seen his picture, then you’ll know what I’m talking about… I guess it’s not possible for someone with so much talent to look that good, the world just couldn’t handle it.

Jeff Buckley’s voice is haunting and beautiful. No matter what I’m doing, or what kind of mood I’m in, his music is always the perfect soundtrack. The first time I heard “Lover, You Should Have Come Over” coming through the speakers on my record player, it was like proof that heaven does exist. I still get that same feeling every time I’m listening to him. That’s why his album is at the top of my favorites list this week, and every week.

