Tags

, , , , ,

IMG_0095   It’s amazing what you can do with a piece of poster board, a stack of magazines, scissors & glue stick, and a little creativity. Collages have always been one of my favorite things to make because there are no rules or limits. I have Anxiety Panic Disorder, so projects like this are like therapy for me. It’s a way to expel all of your thoughts and emotions in a positive way. I don’t really like to talk about my anxiety with anyone because I always feel like they’re just going to be annoyed with me. I literally have anxiety over talking about my anxiety!

I have a ton of subscriptions to magazines that I don’t even read, for no reason other than I can get them for free. Receiving free things in the mail is slightly an obsession of mine. Opening the mailbox and seeing a pile of bills isn’t quite so bad when there are packages and magazines along with them. That is how the project began. My big cardboard box full of magazines was becoming dusty and practically begging me to do something about it. I pulled an issue of Vogue right off the top, and went straight to work.

Collages can be extremely time consuming, but that’s one thing I love about them. It took me several hours to scout through the pages to find the perfect picture, and then to locate the best position for it. The feeling I got upon completion was so rewarding though. I love that moment when I can just step back, admire what I’ve done, and be able to say “I created that.” I am not really artistic, so I have to find alternative ways to get that feeling. There are so many different routes you can take to express yourself. Everyday when you get dressed, what you’re wearing tells a story about who you are. You can blog about your hopes, fears, and interests. Even DIY projects are a great way to show off your inner artist, even if you completely suck at painting and drawing (Like me, for instance).

How do you express yourself?

