Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

FullSizeRender FullSizeRender 3

What You’ll Need:

  • A Frame
  • Paint
  • Fabric
  • Hot Glue Gun

   What do you get when you combine a creative girl, thrift stores, and garage sales? The answer is magic! I have so many ideas running through my head at all times that if I find something for a quarter, I automatically have to buy it. Everything can be repurposed.

   For this particular craft, I spent $0.50. I know, I basically broke the bank with this one. The frame was cracked and just plain ugly, but I had to have it. There’s nothing a little hot glue and spray paint can’t fix! The bird fabric came from a thrift store, and it basically threw itself into my cart. If anything has trees or birds on it, it’s for me. Luckily I already had some yellow spray paint left over from my bookshelf craft, and it matches the birds perfectly.

   The first step was to paint away the ugly on the frame. I succeeded.. kind of. Ordinarily I would have my handyman do any kind of hard work like spray painting. This time I decided I wanted to do it all by myself. I don’t know what happened, but I got paint in my hair, all over my hands, and even on my jeans. Apparently I’m just not cut out for painting. I still think it turned out pretty great though despite my lack of skills in this particular area.

   Next is the easy part, or so I thought. When I unfolded my fabric, it looked like a kindergartner got ahold of some scissors and had a great time. I’m not even joking, it was bad. I put my cardboard backing on a spot that wasn’t quite as chopped as the rest of it, and cut out a nice little square. Since I was working around some obstacles, the trees aren’t perfectly centered in the frame. I decided that just gives the picture more character and makes it look even better. “Just Go With It” has become my motto since I’ve picked up this hobby. After I cut out what I wanted to use, I whipped out my handy hot glue gun and went to work. I folded the back and glued it as if I was wrapping a present. I felt like that was appropriate since it’s basically a present to me, from me!

FullSizeRender 2

  After those three easy steps of painting, cutting, and gluing, all that’s left to do is pop it into the frame!

IMG_9989

  In only an hour, I created something that I can love and admire for years to come.

Fill up your empty walls with art

Fill up your empty time with crafts

Fill your life full of happiness and purpose 

