Tags

, , , , , , ,

10670131_1061644237182592_5811673458711795145_n IMG_9733

 What You’ll Need:

  • A Bookshelf
  • 1 Roll of Contact Paper
  • 4 Cans of Spray Paint
  • A Hammer
  • A handy husband to do the manual labor (Optional)

   I’ll admit it, I’m slightly addicted to garage sale bargains. I purchased this boring little shelf for $10 and I honestly had no idea what I was going to do with it. You can never have enough closet organization though, right? There is no such thing as having too many clothes, only inadequate storage. The color was horrible though. Light brown fake wood… really? That’s definitely not my style. Everything is customizable, so I saw an opportunity to transform my little shelf from brown and boring into something unique and beautiful.

   Thanks to my “shopping addiction” (My husband’s words, not mine!), I already had a roll of super cute contact paper from Walmart.

(Find it here for $4.97 http://www.walmart.com/ip/Duck-Brand-Adhesive-Peel-and-Stick-Laminate-20-x-12-Grey-Quatrefoil/38055933)

   We took off the back piece, and took all of the shelves out. I completely covered one shelf with contact paper. It’s ridiculously easy, the paper is just like a giant sticker! All you have to do is stick and cut. If you are a perfectionist like me, it will take a little bit of time and effort to get everything straight and even. Then I covered the back panel. Maximus felt like it was necessary to offer his assistance during this phase.

IMG_9279

   With the trickiest part out of the way, all that was left to do was paint! I picked a bright and happy yellow spray paint from Lowe’s (They offer 10% military discount). It took about two days to paint since my painter gets off work late and the paint needs time to dry. You do not want to rush the painting process and end up with drips or smudges. On the second day, I literally sat and watched the paint dry because I was so excited to complete this project. Once it was finally dry, I had my handyman nail the back piece back on, and we put the shelves in place. It really was as easy as it sounds. Now I have so much more room for jeans and purses, and an awesome way to store them!

IMG_9734

   Love it as much as I do? Make one for yourself! GET CRAFTY (:

